8-Ball Rules

I can't stand the rules people sometimes play with (more like rules they don't play with). I mean if you're gonna make imaginary rules out of the air, then at least let people know you're going to be creative that day. Here's one example that almost everyone I know mistakenly plays with:

Common Scenario:
I'm shooting for the 8-ball and miss, but accidentally scratch the cue ball (yes, the white ball goes into a pocket). I bet you think you're smart and say, "That clearly means you lose the game, ha ha!" Me: WRONG! The proof is here, straight from: THE WORLD STANDARDIZED RULES: 8-BALL
When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand.
Rare Scenario:
Right off the break you pocket the 8-ball. You: "Yeah baby! I win! What an amazing shot!" Me: WRONG!
If the 8-ball is pocketed on the break, breaker may ask for a re-rack or have the 8-ball spotted and continue shooting.
Cheap "Tactic" Typically Employed By Unskilled Players:
I have the 8-ball open at the other end of the table, but on the opposite side of your own red ball. Your cue ball is already virtually touching the red ball (at this point it's a tough shot for me to try and even contact the 8-ball, but luckily it's your shot). So you decide to be smart and perform your highly skilled half-inch shot. This entails you to tap the cue ball ever so lightly, so that after contacting your red ball it moves a total of half an inch, never touching a rail...It simply looks like you never even took a shot. You: "Hah! Now I got you! You're gonna foul on the 8-ball and lose the game!" Me: WRONG x 2!
On all shots (except on the break and when the table is open), the shooter must hit one of his group of balls first and (1) pocket a numbered ball, or (2) cause the cue ball or any numbered ball to contact a rail

Also see Rule 4.19 PLAYING THE 8-BALL above.
Hopefully, someone has learned a valuable lesson from this: Ryan is always right ;-)

Post a Comment


Respond to this post...

Post a Comment (0)